Back to All Events

National Symphony Orchestra: Celebrating Slatkin at 75

  • Kennedy Center 2700 F Street Northwest Washington, DC, 20566 United States (map)

Leonard Slatkin, conductor
Olga Kern, piano
Various: Yet Another Set of Variations (on a Theme of Paganini) (NSO co-commission)
Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 1
Copland: Symphony No. 3

“Call it star quality—music likes Kern the way the camera liked Garbo.”—the Washington Post

When former NSO Music Director Leonard Slatkin led the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, he commissioned a set of variations—each from a different living American composer—on the famous Paganini Caprice No. 24. In honor of Slatkin’s 75th birthday season, a number of orchestras, including the NSO, have each commissioned an additional variation to create a new, expanded version of the work. This feast of a concert also includes one of the Maestro’s signature works, Copland’s monumental Third Symphony, as well as Rachmaninoff’s First Piano Concerto with extraordinary Russian pianist Olga Kern.


$15.00 - $99.00


Concert Hall

 Run Time

Approx. 1-3/4 hour

Beginning at 6:45 p.m. before the Dec. 7 performance
Take a journey into the fascinating stories behind the music led by knowledgeable and engaging artists and scholars! Look for even more of these offerings throughout the season; each ForeWords begins at 6:45 p.m. (the Concert Hall doors open 15 minutes prior), lasts 30 minutes, and is free and open to the public.

Immediately following the Dec. 5 performance
Stay after the performance for an insightful discussion with the some of the exciting guest artists and NSO musicians featured on the night’s program, moderated by NSO Director of Artistic Planning Nigel Boon. You may even have an opportunity to ask a question! Look for even more of these offerings throughout the season; each AfterWords is free with your concert ticket.